Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Skip Navigation Links
Guernsey Gab
Nailing Jello
Wheat Sprouts
NEW! Yard Sales

Write In Votes in Wheatland

Write In Votes in Wheatland
Bill Squires
The status quo incumbants look like they could be taking a beating in Wheaterville this voting season. Commissioner Dan Kirkbride was the first to fall to newcomer Steve Schokley 

Platte County Attorney candidate Ken Johnston gave ABA (Anyone But Alden) incumbant Eric Jones a real run for his money in the August primary, and has decided to stay in the race and hope for a write-in win against Jones.

Jones was appointed by the Platte County Commissioners after the ABA contingent elected Mary Eikenberry but then decided to fire her. (Until she resigned, then promptly rescinded her resignation, whereupon she was, indeed, fired by then-Commissioners Kirkbride, Reichardt and Milikin.) Eric Jones was eventually elected Platte County Attorney after his initial appointment, and also continues to run his local private law practice.

Attorney Johnston came surprisingly close to unseating Jones in August, losing by fewer than 200 votes. He's knocking on doors and hoping that 200 additional people will write in his name, and fill in that little oval next to it, on November 2. 

Incumbant Wheatland mayor Dean Hensel ran unopposed in the primary, but has some unexpected competition in the general. 

In August, Jean "Skrinny" Dixon let it be known around town that since she wasn't going for another go-around as County Clerk, she'd be open to taking a shot at Mayor if enough folks wrote her in on their primary ballots. She only needed three, and received more than enough to convince her to unofficially officially run for the roses. 

Meanwhile, in the State Governor's race, Tea Party favorite and Cheyenne Doc Taylor Haines didn't make it onto the ballot, but he's out there campaigning, talking about the issues, and hoping that Wyoming voters will decide that Matt Mead's Millions shouldn't buy him the Governor's mansion.

Hard to say how Platte County will vote. Their candidate last time around was Duncan Hunter. 'Nuff said.  
Add comment Add comment

Wheaterville.com :: Wheatland, Wyoming's alternative newspaper glorified blog

Be sure to visit The Sybille Sentinel
IPSEMOI Industries
Copyright © 2020 Ipsemoi Industries. All Rights Reserved.